Hofstra Law

Federal Circuit Bar Association Scholarship


Deadline Date: Apr 15th, 2018
Posted Date: Jan 3rd, 2012

Federal Circuit Bar Association’s Scholarship Application & Rules
[Applications must be sent between April 1 and midnight EST on April 15, 2018

Who may apply?

Students (a) pursuing a juris doctor degree, (b) enrolling for the upcoming academic year (i.e., 2018/2019) in any law school accredited by the American Bar Association, (c) having financial need, and (d) showing a demonstrable interest in one of the many topics that lie within the procedure, substance, or scope of the jurisdiction of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (e.g., international trade, government contracts, patents, trademarks, certain money claims against the United States government, federal personnel, and veterans’ benefits). Students with interests solely in such areas as family, public interest, bankruptcy, or criminal law, for example, need not apply. Students pursuing advanced degrees (e.g., LL.M.) need not apply. Law schools should limit applications to no more than five students from their school in any one year.


How to apply?

An application must include a single PDF format file that includes each of the following: (1) scholarship coverpage; (2) curriculum vitae; (3) undergraduate and, if applicable, graduate and law school transcripts; and (4) an original, typed essay written by the applicant alone. The essay is limited to no more than 450 words, on one page, and should address the applicant’s financial need, any interests in particular areas of the law, and any specific qualifications for a particular scholarship considered relevant by the applicant (i.e., please highlight which scholarship you feel you are best qualified to receive). Applications may include unofficial transcripts, and need not include a letter of recommendation. For those applicants who will begin law school in the upcoming (i.e., 2014/2015) academic year and cannot provide a law school transcripts, please submit a copy of your letter of acceptance to law school.

As noted above, submissions must be transmitted as a single document in PDF format only by e-mail to the Federal Circuit Bar Association at the following e-mail address: fcbascholarships@fedcirbar.org. Any inquiry related to the application may be sent to the cochairs of the FCBA Scholarship Committee, Jennifer Doan, jdoan@haltomdoan.com, Richard McNeely, richard.mcneely@dinsmore.com, and Jacob Schroeder, jacob.schroeder@finnegan.com. Please identify your submission by “FCBA Scholarship Submission” in the “Subject” line. Unfortunately, the Association cannot process incomplete applications, nor will the Association contact an individual noting the deficiencies in the application because the volume of applications is robust.


Who judges the scholarship applications?

The applications are evaluated by those members of the Association who comprise the Scholarship Screening Committee. There are currently six members on the Committee.

How and when will I be notified if I am awarded a scholarship?

A representative of the Association will contact each scholarship winner by telephone, and then by mail, on or before May 31, 2018. Applicants need not make follow-up inquiries about the status of their applications.


Which scholarship should I apply for?

Please submit only one application, regardless of the scholarship you believe you are most qualified to receive, because the Association considers each application with the criteria of all of the different scholarships in mind. Thus, one application renders the applicant eligible for all of the available scholarships.

The Association offers two different categories of scholarships: “Judicial” and “Association.” Judicial Scholarships include the Howard T. Markey Memorial Scholarship, the Helen W. Nies Memorial Scholarship, and the Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Scholarship. The Association Scholarships include awards in honor of William S. Bullinger, as well as other scholarships based primarily on need. Each scholarship in the Association’s Scholarship Series is contingent upon the availability of funds and other factors.


Judicial Scholarships

Howard T. Markey Memorial Scholarship: An award of $10,000 will be given in memory of Howard T. Markey, the first Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Like the other Fund scholarships, the award seeks out law students demonstrating academic promise, economic need, and an interest in the subject matter of the Federal Circuit’s legal community. The Howard T. Markey scholarship also emphasizes a commitment to public service as a remembrance of Howard T. Markey’s unique contribution of values driven by a lifetime committed to the public. Only one Howard T. Markey Memorial Scholarship is awarded each year. The award is presented at the Association’s annual dinner in November.

Helen W. Nies Memorial Scholarship: An award of $10,000 will