Hofstra Law

Equal Access to Justice Scholarship


Deadline Date: Nov 1st, 2011
Posted Date: Oct 3rd, 2011


How Do I Apply?

      The National Association of Women Judges Equal Access to Justice Scholarship is a scholarship that is awarded by each NAWJ District to a local law student at any NAWJ-sponsored event. There is no formal application process; scholarships are awarded on a selection basis.

      When NAWJ District Directors hold events in their districts, they have the option to award a scholarship. Working together with the administration of the local law school, the District Director and/or law school representative solicits resumes from potential candidates and selects a law student to receive the award. Once they have made the selection, the scholarship is awarded at a District event.


Who is Eligible?

      Scholarship recipients must be an enrolled second- or third-year law student in good academic standing who has demonstrated a sustained and passionate commitment to the achievement of equality of opportunity and access in the system of justice. The student must also submit an application, a 500-word personal statement, and a resume.


Equal Access to Justice Scholarship

NAWJ initiated the Equal Access to Justice Scholarship Program to award scholarships to law students who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to diversity and equality in the system of justice. The scholarships are presented at NAWJ District events across the country. We are hopeful that the benefits of the scholarship program will far transcend the financial benefit to the individual students. The program also promises to create enduring partnerships between NAWJ Districts and their local area law schools, and between NAWJ and new generations of women judges to come.


Justice Sandra Day O'Connor Scholarship

The Justice Sandra Day O'Connor Scholarship was established by the National Association of Women Judges in 2006 to honor the legacy of the first woman to serve on the United States Supreme Court. Justice O'Connor's life story and extraordinary professional achievements illustrate three core values: scholarship, leadership, and commitment to public service and equal justice. This scholarship will honor and perpetuate Justice O'Connor's legacy by annually recognizing the achievements and commitment of a law student who exemplifies the values that have guided Justice O'Connor throughout her extraordinary career.


Deadline: TBA


Award: TBA


Contact Information

National Association of Women Judges
1341 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 4.2
Washington, DC 20036-1834
Phone: (202) 393-0222
Fax: (202) 393-0125